Proverbs 3: 3-4

2/4 time

G C
If I could go back to change things in my past
G D G
I’d identify… the ones I put last
G C
‘Cause knowing and earning aren’t ends in themselves:
G D G
Wisdom, God’s wisdom, is worth all the world’s wealth.

C G
If I could just talk to the younger me
A D
I’d hold a conversation and we would agree that
G C
Our Father says in everything, truth is the way
G D G
And mercy, His mercy, governs all that we say.

G C
I’d try to find favor, and a good name in His Sight
G D G
Instead of gloom, and heartache in the dark of the night.
G C
And then, appreciation… in the eyes of men
G D G
Sure that I’d never make the same mistakes again.

C G
If I could I’d go back to stop the wreck;
A D
Bind His mercy and love on a chain around my neck.
G C
For always I’d carve them on my aching heart
G D G
Far better than a stone from which they could depart.

G C
I’d try to find favor and a good name in His Sight
G D G
Instead of gloom, and heartache in the dark of the night.
G C
And then, appreciation… in the eyes of men
G D G
Sure that I’d never make the same mistakes again.

C G
As it is I must live from this day on
A D
Knowing the future is from experience drawn
G C
If I put into action what’s in God’s Word
G D G
Truth and mercy, love and kindness will be all that is heard.

G D G
Truth and mercy, love and kindness, will be all that is heard.

 

Copyright 2017 margaretportergriffin

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

